Our School Staff

The staff currently consists of over 30 hard-working and dedicated professionals under the leadership of Principal Niall Crofton.
There are currently eight mainstream classes in the school from Junior Infants to sixth class. In September 2014 we were delighted to open a class catering for pupils with Mild General Learning Difficulties (MGLD). Then in September 2015 we opened a new ASD class ( Cairdeas ). In September 2019 we opened a 2nd ASD class to meet a critical local need in South Offaly. This class CAIRDEAS 2 was constructed on a temporary basis by volunteers from our community led by BOM member Mr Adrian Sheils. The school have submitted plans to DES to construct a purpose-built ASD unit in the near future. There are a number of learning support and resource teachers in the school who form the SEN team. The staff, at present, comprises of 17 full-time teachers.

In August 2020 the school became a base school for 3 supply teachers ( COVID19) who are available as substitute teachers to 25 local schools.
The school and its pupils also have the support of 8 Special Needs Assistants, a secretary, caretaker and two cleaners.

The school also has the services of a Home School Community Liaison Teacher shared with the Mercy Primary School.There is also a School Completion Programme in operation in the school. These are valuable supports along with school lunch scheme which are part of the DEIS school programme.

Teaching Staff 2020/ 2021

Junior Infants: Ms. Yvonne Ryan

Senior Infants: Ms. Maeve Ryder / Ms Niamh Moran

Rang 1: Ms. Yvonne Kenny

Rang 2: Ms. Mary Teehan

Rang 3: Ms Mary Wyer

Rang 4: Mr. Michael Carroll

Rang 5: Ms. Sarah Pilkington

Rang 6: Ms Lena Grace

Learning support / Resource Teachers (SEN Team)

Ms. Martina Mulqueen ( Deputy Principal)
Mrs. Teresa Kelly
Ms Paula Doyle
Ms Alicia Stack
Mr Damien Cunningham

Mr. Padraic Kennedy (MGLD class)
Ms Nuala Hogan (Cairdeas 1)
Ms. Elaine Hynes (Cairdeas 2)

Ms Cathy Daly ( Supply teacher scheme)
Ms Ann O’Rorurke ( Supply teacher scheme)
Ms Jacqui Richards ( Supply teacher scheme)

SNA Team
Ms Helen Kirwan
Ms Claire Fitzgerald
Ms Valerie Maher
Ms Mary Gorman
Ms Martina Guilfoyle
Ms Rachel Keogh
Ms Michelle Makim
Ms Anna Hogan

Secretary Mrs. Sara O’Meara

Caretaker Mr. Mick Hansbury

HSCL Teacher Ms Ann Hennelly ( Shared with Mercy Primary)

SCP Support staff Mrs Mairead Keevey / Ms Dani Dunne

Cleaning staff Mrs Ruth Patel / Mrs Claire Corcoran

School Chaplain Fr . Anthony

Principal Mr. Niall Crofton